Hindi Gaurav :: 19 Nov 2015 Last Updated : 2015-11-19 11:29:19 Printemail

The State’s best athletes have been honoured at the 2015 NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) Awards in Sydney tonight.


Minister for Sport Stuart Ayres said NSWIS athletes have achieved extraordinary success during 2015, with over 20 scholarship holders claiming world championship gold medals in various events around the world.


“This has been another outstanding year in sport and I must congratulate all the athletes, coaches and sport programs named as finalists for this year’s NSWIS Awards,” Mr Ayres said.


“NSWIS athletes have made their mark on sport in many ways during 2015, and a number of the athletes who achieved success did so from regional cities and towns in NSW.


“Not only does this provide inspiration for those communities, but it also shows that the services and initiatives put in place by NSWIS are having a major impact on Australia’s sporting success.”


The NSWIS Awards recognise achievement across 10 categories including academic triumphs, team and individual performances, coaching and sport program success and excellence in vocation and sport.


The 2015 winners include a range of world champion NSWIS athletes including cyclist Ashlee Ankudinoff, rower Erik Horrie and netballer Paige Hadley.


The awards take place just eight months away from August 2016’s Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro with the 2016 Paralympic Games beginning just one month later in September 2016.


“On behalf of the people of NSW I would like to wish those athletes good luck. The State and nation will be cheering them on from our living rooms and we hope to be celebrating their success at this time in 2016,” Mr Ayres added.

The Australian College of Physical Education Academic Excellence – General 
Matthew Graham (Winter Sports – Narara)  
The University of Sydney Academic Excellence 
Nicholas Hough (Track & Field – Bella Vista)  
Commonwealth Bank Excellence in Vocation and Sport 
Nicholas Hough (Track & Field – Bella Vista)  
Ian Thorpe OAM Outstanding Achievement presented by NEC Australia 
Paige Hadley (Netball – St Clair)  
Mizuno Junior Athlete of the Year 
Matthew Wilson (Swimming – Faulconbridge)  
Office of Sport Regional Athlete of the Year 
Maddison Elliott (Swimming – Gillieston Heights)  
NSWIS Coach of the Year presented by the AIS Centre for Performance Coaching and Leadership 
Bradley McGee (Cycling)  
Sydney Olympic Park Authority Program of the Year 
Sydney City Toyota Female Athlete of the Year 
Ashlee Ankudinoff (Cycling – Menai)  
ClubsNSW Male Athlete of the Year 
Erik Horrie (Rowing – Penrith) 

comments powered by Disqus